Baby Please!

Schrendria Blog

No Excuses

on July 20, 2014

Earlier this week I saw a news story that shook me to my core.  A mother and father were arrested for not feeding their two- month-old baby for five days.  Deplorable!!! I fought back the tears while watching this 2-minute segment and thought of my own children.  Imagine the crying that took place and the pain felt by that precious child.  My twins are almost 2 months old and they have a cry that is out of this world signifying that they are ready to be fed.  The hunger cry is a very piercing sound unlike any other cry. As a mother I can’t get to them fast enough to provide nourishment.  Thus, it is hard for me to believe that parents can sit in a house and listen to a child cry because the child is hungry and do nothing about it.

There are no excuses for not feeding a child. I’ve tried to put myself in the parents’ shoes and think of various scenarios as to why they did not feed the child, but there are just no excuses.

  • They could have reached out to governmental agencies that provide support for women and children.
  • The couple could have visited a food bank.
  • The couple could have talked with a social worker at the hospital where the baby was born and asked for help.
  • What about family and friends, could the couple not reach out to them on behalf of the baby?
  • I wonder did the mother try nursing the child.
  • Did the parents eat in the past five days?

There are no excuses.  Nothing explains the parents’ behavior.

This story infuriates me because there are millions of people in the United States alone who desire to become parents.  There are some like myself who are parents but it did not come easy.  And this couple was given the gift of parenthood and has abused it.  There are many who would have taken this baby into their homes and loved him unconditionally if the parents did not want to assume the responsibility.  I would love to hear the parents’ side of the story. I’m seeking to understand their mindset.

Thankfully the baby is okay and is in protective custody.  You can read more about this story here. 


Leave a Reply

